EU Angry that U.S. Visa Waiver Program Still Has Haves and Have Nots

Skift Take

The EU wants the United States to broaden the visa waiver program to European countries currently excluded. That’s probably going to be a tough sell to the new Trump Administration given the proliferation of terrorism incidents in Europe.

— Dennis Schaal

The European Union says little progress has been made in persuading the United States to lift visa restrictions on some EU countries despite the visa waiver accord between Washington and Brussels.

The EU’s executive Commission said Wednesday that it “will intensify its efforts” to get the U.S. to extend visa-free travel to citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania once president-elect Donald Trump takes office.

The Commission was legally bound to propose earlier this year that visas be reintroduced for U.S. citizens until all EU nationals have visa-free entry but the bloc’s member states preferred to take no action.

The Commission says that suspending the visa waiver for U.S. travelers would be complicated and bothersome for EU citizens but would also hurt trade, tourism and the European economy.

This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.

Tags: eu, visas

Destination Mexico: The Evolution of Luxury Travel

Luxury travelers are looking for more than just posh accommodations and generic pampering. Savvy suppliers and tourism organizations are capitalizing on the desire for authentic experiences, as the sharing economy continues to present new ways to connect travelers with local culture.

Read More

Next Story