Skift Take

Romanians and Bulgarians won't need passports for EU travel when flying or sailing, but they will still need them when using land borders.

Citizens of European Union members Romania and Bulgaria will no longer need a passport from March 31, 2024 to travel by air or sea to most other EU countries as well as Norway and Switzerland, the council of EU governments said on Saturday.

The decision extends the EU’s passport-free travel zone, called the Schengen area, to 25 of the 27 EU countries. The Schengen area includes also Norway and Switzerland, which are not part of the EU, but does not include EU members Ireland and Cyprus and EU citizens still must have a passport to enter them.

Romanians and Bulgarians will still face passport checks when crossing land borders to their EU neighbours, though talks on lifting them as well will continue in 2024 and a decision is to be taken on that “within a reasonable time frame”, the European Commission said in a statement.

(Reporting by Jan Strupczewski; Editing by Lisa Shumaker)

This article was from Reuters and was legally licensed through the DiveMarketplace by Industry Dive. Please direct all licensing questions to [email protected].


The Daily Newsletter

Our daily coverage of the global travel industry. Written by editors and analysts from across Skift’s brands.

Have a confidential tip for Skift? Get in touch

Tags: bulgaria, european union, norway, passports, romania, switzerland, visas

Photo credit: Romanian Prime Minister Marcel Ciolacu met German Chancellor Olaf Scholz in Berlin. Source: Reuters

Up Next

Loading next stories