Skift Take

While it's not official yet, it makes sense that President Trump would expand his travel ban in the lead-up to the 2020 elections. It's time for the U.S. travel sector to unite in opposition to any new restrictions.

The Trump administration is slated to restrict travel from seven more countries in Africa and Asia in the coming days, according to media reports.

The Wall Street Journal reports that the U.S. plans to limit visa access for visitors from Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. While the draft of restrictions hasn’t been finalized, it is likely limitations will be placed on the types of visas individual travelers can receive. Trump mentioned the new limitations today in an interview in Davos.

The original travel ban, which was upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court in June 2018 after years of litigation, targeted visitors from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen. It yielded an outcry from U.S. travel companies and helped tarnish the image of the U.S. in the eyes of international visitors, likely contributing to a downturn in tourism and business travel.

There have also been recent reports of Iranian-Americans detained at the U.S.-Canada border and an Iranian student with a proper visa being denied access to the country without a court hearing.

The U.S. government also moved to ban all U.S. leisure travel to Cuba in June 2019.

The U.S. Travel Association had no comment on the news today.

This story will be updated as more information emerges.


The Daily Newsletter

Our daily coverage of the global travel industry. Written by editors and analysts from across Skift’s brands.

Have a confidential tip for Skift? Get in touch

Tags: sudan, tourism, travel ban, trump

Photo credit: President Donald Trump arrives to speak at a campaign rally in Hershey, Pennsylvania, on Dec. 10, 2019. Patrick Semansky / Associated Press

Up Next

Loading next stories